7 Sports Live

Aug 1

Broncos check in as lone ranked team in MW

The Boise State football team was ranked No. 19 in the initial USA TODAY Coaches’ Poll that was released on Thursday.

This marks the fifth consecutive season the Broncos have been ranked in the preseason poll and 12th straight year they have cracked the top 25 of the coaches poll at least once.

- Along with the Broncos, three other schools in the Mountain West received votes.
     No. 31 - Fresno State, 62
     No. 35 - Utah State, 23
     No. 41 - San Jose State, 8

- Boise State was one of three schools from a non-power conference to crack the top 25. The SEC led the way with six teams, followed by the Big Ten (5), Pac-12 (5), Big 12 (4) and ACC (2). No. 9 Louisville and No. 11 Notre Dame were the two other schools from a non-power conference that were ranked.

- None of Boise State’s 12 opponents were ranked, but four received votes. By the way, Oregon State received 135 votes and was the final team in the top 25.
     No. 31 - Fresno State, 62
     No. 35 - Utah State, 23
     No. 36 - BYU, 20
     t-No. 43 - Washington, 3

- The initial Associated Press poll in set to be released on Saturday, Aug. 17. Boise State has been ranked in the AP preseason top 25 in each of the last four seasons, including No. 24 in 2012.

- Here is a complete list of the 62 head coaches that make up the USA TODAY Sports Board of Coaches: David Bailiff, Rice; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Tim Beckman, Illinois; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; Bill Blankenship, Tulsa; Terry Bowden, Akron; Art Briles, Baylor; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Toledo; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Dave Christensen, Wyoming; Dave Clawson, Bowling Green; Larry Coker, Texas-San Antonio; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State; Ron English, Eastern Michigan; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Kyle Flood, Rutgers; Dennis Franchione, Texas State; James Franklin, Vanderbilt; Al Golden, Miami (Fla.); Todd Graham, Arizona State; Jim Grobe, Wake Forest; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Arkansas State; Bobby Hauck, UNLV; Mark Helfrich, Oregon; Brady Hoke, Michigan; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette; Curtis Johnson, Tulane; Joey Jones, South Alabama; June Jones, Southern Methodist; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Jerry Kill, Minnesota; Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech; Mike Leach, Washington State; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Dan McCarney, North Texas; Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Les Miles, LSU; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; George OLeary, Central Florida; Bo Pelini, Nebraska; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Oregon State; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Charlie Strong, Louisville; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Don Treadwell, Miami (Ohio); Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Kyle Whittingham, Utah